Figure 3 Alternate Content

Figure 3: Effect of Weather

Figure 3 shows the effect of the weather on bike trips. Cyclists on the Custis Trail are much more averse to rain than to cold temperatures. This also strengthens the case for trail maintenance and snow clearing through the winter. If the trails are clear of snow, many people will ride despite the cold. A relatively small investment in clearing the trails keeps people on their bikes, which mean less cars on the road.

Notes on Data Below:

Sunday, March 5 (low ridership day): Low 33 degrees F, high 58 degrees, 1.39 inches of rain

Thursday, March 10 (lowest ridership day): Low 46 degrees F, high 56 degrees, 1.41 inches of rain

Sunday, March 13 (highest ridership day): Low 39 degrees F, high 59 degrees, no rain

Friday, March 18 (high ridership day): Low 48 degrees F, high 80 degrees, no rain

Date

CBA Bike in

CBA Bike out

Wed 02 Mar 2011

436

243

Thu 03 Mar 2011

195

190

Fri 04 Mar 2011

239

237

Sat 05 Mar 2011

411

393

Sun 06 Mar 2011

26

24

Mon 07 Mar 2011

215

197

Tue 08 Mar 2011

320

263

Wed 09 Mar 2011

182

184

Thu 10 Mar 2011

49

49

Fri 11 Mar 2011

261

263

Sat 12 Mar 2011

380

284

Sun 13 Mar 2011

527

443

Mon 14 Mar 2011

320

261

Tue 15 Mar 2011

259

222

Wed 16 Mar 2011

228

221

Thu 17 Mar 2011

556

390

Fri 18 Mar 2011

698

553

Sat 19 Mar 2011

428

368

Sun 20 Mar 2011

385

362

Mon 21 Mar 2011

199

187

Tue 22 Mar 2011

475

435

Wed 23 Mar 2011

156

136

Thu 24 Mar 2011

168

190

Fri 25 Mar 2011

251

243

Sat 26 Mar 2011

228

242

Sun 27 Mar 2011

87

94

Mon 28 Mar 2011

267

244

Tue 29 Mar 2011

320

305

Wed 30 Mar 2011

119

109

Thu 31 Mar 2011

92

88

Did You Know?

Adolescents who participate in bicycling more than four times a week are 48% less likely to be overweight as adults.

Menschik, D., et al., 2008

More

Follow BikeArlington's Twitter Feed

Upcoming Events
Car-Free Diet at Ballston Mall

Saturday, December 20, 2014

Christmas Day

Thursday, December 25, 2014

County Offices Closed

Friday, December 26, 2014

Events Calendar

News Headlines
Who rides a bike in D.C.?

Canaan Merchant, December 18, 2014, GGW

Arlington's streetcar is dead. Now what?

Rachel Kaufman, December 18, 2014, Next City

More News & Events